Nominations for the 16th Legal Aid Practitioners Group Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards are now open

12 Feb 2018


Nominations for the 2018 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year (LALY) awards are now open. There are 12 awards in total including Children's Rights, Public Law, Housing, Access to Justice through IT, and Criminal Defence (see full list, below).

LAPG director Carol Storer says:

'For the first time this year, we are introducing an award specifically to recognise the role of legal aid practice managers, who do a vital and increasingly challenging job. They are often the bedrock of the sector, providing the leadership and stability, which allow legal aid lawyers to continue to deliver access to justice to clients.'

For the third year running, LALY18 will be crowdfunding for sponsorship for the popular Legal Aid Newcomer award, allowing supporters to show solidarity with the profession by donating to become Friends of LALY18. All money raised will go towards the cost of staging the event, and to keeping ticket prices affordable.

Full details of how to become a Friend of LALY18 see:

All LALY nominations must be submitted online via:

The 2018 award categories in full are:

* Children’s Rights

* Criminal Defence

* Family (including Mediation) - sponsored by Resolution

* Housing

* Public Law

* Social and Welfare

* Legal Aid Newcomer

* Legal Aid Barrister

* Practice manager

* Legal Aid Firm/Not-for-profit Agency

* Access to Justice through IT

* Outstanding Achievement

LALY18 sponsors are:


Anthony Gold

The Bar Council

DG Legal

Garden Court Chambers

Irwin Mitchell

The Law Society

The Legal Education Foundation

Matrix Chambers



Legal Action Group (media partner)

Follow the LALYs on Twitter




Carol Storer, LAPG director

020 7833 7431

07432 104088

Fiona Bawdon, LALY organiser

020 8211 0903

07740 644474


1. LAPG is the leading membership organisation for legal aid lawyers, providing a wide range of services and support.

2. The Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards are into their 16th year. They are organised on a not-for-profit basis by LAPG. Nominations close on 10 April, and the winners will be announced at a ceremony in central London on 17 July 2018.

3. LAPG do not seek nominations for the Outstanding Achievement award.