Nominations for the 14th Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards officially open

News Release

01 Mar 2016


Member Sarah Cove receiving her award for Family Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year from Lord Justice McFarlane in 2015

Nominations for the 2016 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Award are now open. There are 12 Awards in total including Family Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year and Family Mediator of the Year, both of which are proudly sponsored by Resolution.

For the first time, supporters of legal aid will have the opportunity to be publicly recognised as Friends of LALY16, by making a donation (via crowdfunding) to sponsor the Legal Aid Newcomer award - one of the Awards highlights.

Full details of the crowdfunding scheme and the rewards available for different levels of donation are available here.

Nominations will close on 25 April and winners will be announced at the Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards on 7 July in Central London.

Follow the LALYs on Twitter using @LALYawards using #LALY16

For more information contact:

Carol Storer, LAPG director

020 7833 7431

07801 593963

Fiona Bawdon, LALY organiser

020 8211 0903

07740 644474


1. LAPG is the leading membership organisation for legal aid lawyers, providing a range of services and support.

2. The Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards are into their 14th year. They are organised on a not-for-profit basis by LAPG. Nomination forms are available from:

LALY 2016