Resolution members shine at the 2015 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year awards

News Release

02 Jul 2015


Members of family law organisation Resolution were celebrated in the 2015 Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards (LALYs) last night. Resolution members Sarah Cove and Noel Arnold won Family Legal Aid Lawyer and Children’s Rights Lawyer respectively, with a number of other Resolution legal aid practitioners featuring amongst the finalists, among them Emma Cordock, a member of Resolution’s Legal Aid committee, who was shortlisted for legal aid newcomer.

The LALYs, run by the Legal Aid Practitioners Group (LAPG) are legal aid’s most prestigious event, honouring the often unsung champions of the legal profession who do so much to support some of society’s most vulnerable people. This year’s winners included Marcia Willis-Stewart, who represented the family of police shooting victim Mark Duggan and the families of the 1989 Hillsborough disaster victims.

The awards are now in their thirteenth year and are supported by Resolution as sponsors of the Family Legal Aid Lawyer and Family Mediatior categories.

Resolution chair Jo Edwards says : “I’d like to extend warm congratulations to all of the winners and finalists at last night’s LALY awards, in particular Resolution’s Sarah Cove and Noel Arnold, who are two of the brightest stars in family law. Special congratulations also to Margaret Pendlebury, winner of the inaugural Family Mediator category, which Resolution is proud to sponsor.”

“The work legal aid lawyers do is vital to ensuring that our society remains just and fair. The cuts to legal aid funding have had a profound impact on the profession, but it’s lawyers like those recognised at the LALYs who work tirelessly to ensure that vulnerable and disadvantaged people continue to have access to justice.”

“We’re honoured to support the LALYs and the work of the LAPG. In the current climate, celebrating the work of our legal aid lawyers is more important than ever.”


Member Sarah Cove receiving her award for Family Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year from Lord Justice McFarlane in 2015